NEWS: Tonight Alive part ways with guitarist, Whakaio Taahi!

After almost a decade with the band, being one of the founding members of the band, Tonight Alive have announced that they have regrettably parted ways with guitarist, Whakaio Taahi, and will continue one as a four-piece for the foreseeable future.

Along with touring with the band around many different parts of the world, Taahi helped to write and performed on the band’s first three records; 2011’s ‘What Are You So Scared Of?’, 2013’s ‘The Other Side’, and 2016’s ‘Limitless’.

The news was confirmed via a statement issued by the band, citing Taahi‘s reasons for leaving centred around his intentions to “pursue his own career in songwriting and producing outside of the band.”

You can read the band’s full statement below.

“It is with regret and great sadness that we announce our guitarist Whakaio’s departure from Tonight Alive. After nine years on this path together, Whak has made the decision to step back from touring and pursue his own career in songwriting and producing outside of the band. Whakaio loved and came alive in the creative process; it was a pleasure and privilege to witness. We know his heart and gifts belong in the studio and we continue to love and support each other as a family. The four of us consider ourselves to be one part of a greater whole, and will always hold a place for our brother and best friend, whose energy will be known, heard and felt for lifetimes.”

The band will be releasing their forthcoming fourth full-length, ‘Underworld’, on January 12th 2018 via Hopeless Records.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Solve : *
42 ⁄ 21 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.