NEWS: SHVPES detail debut album, ‘Pain. Joy. Ecstasy. Despair.’, out October 14th 2016!


Having been on the touring circuit without any official release since their name change from Cytota almost two years ago, British post-hardcore upstarts SHVPES have now unveiled details surrounding their debut album.

‘Pain. Joy. Ecstasy. Despair.’, produced by Carl Bown & Jim Pinder (While She Sleeps, Trivium), is set for release on October 14th 2016 via Search & Destroy/Spinefarm Records.

You can check out the artwork and track listing below:

01.) Bone Theory
02.) State Of Mine [stream]
03.) Skin & Bones
04.) False Teeth [stream]
05.) Smoke & Mirrors
06.) Breaking The Silence
07.) The Otherside
08.) Two Minutes Of Hate [stream]
09.) Pain. Joy. Ecstasy. Despair.
10.) God Warrior [stream]
11.) Tear Down The Walls

Speaking of the record, vocalist Griffin Dickinson explains, “As a concept, this album is about finding the beauty in whatever situation you’re in. Your ability to feel pain/to feel despair is ultimately what allows you to embrace the feeling of joy or ecstasy. It’s like yin & yang. ‘Pain. Joy. Ecstacy. Despair.’ gave me a platform to expel 24 years’ worth of frustration and turn it into something positive; something I can be proud of and something, I hope, the listener can find solace in.

From our eclectic musical influences to the incredibly personal, vulnerable, yet empowering lyrical content, we’ve managed to create something that is perfectly in balance with our own musical tastes. To be able to put out our most honest work to date, at this point, is a dream come true. There really is something for everyone on this record and we can’t wait for you all to hear it!”

You can pre-order the album now via the band’s official website (here).