NEWS: Opeth detail upcoming new studio LP, ‘Sorceress’!

Swedish progressive metal icons Opeth have just revealed the details surrounding what will be the band’s twelfth studio album. The band’s new record, titled ‘Sorceress’, which will be released on September 30th 2016 via Nuclear Blast Records.

You can take a look at the album’s artwork, and full track listing below

01.) Persephone
02.) Sorceress
03.) The Wilde Flowers
04.) Will O The Wisp
05.) Chrysalis
06.) Sorceress 2
07.) The Seventh Sojourn
08.) Strange Brew
09.) A Fleeting Glance
10.) Era
11.) Persephone (Slight Return)

Speaking of the album, frontman Mikael Åkerfeldt said, “The new album ‘Sorceress’ is our 12th studio album since our beginnings in 1990. I find it difficult to understand that we’ve been going on for 26 years, let alone that we’ve made 12 records now, all of which I am very proud of. ‘Sorceress’ is no exception. I love this album, as does the whole band. I wrote the music during 5-6 months and we spent only 12 days recording it at Rockfield Studios in Wales. I find that once again we’ve taken a step forward. Or sideways. Or backwards. Somewhere!? It’s different! It’s extremely diverse – and if I may say so myself, extremely good. I feel the right to say that since I like to think I know this band better than anyone on the planet. Also, I always manage to detach myself from the record and listen as a fan. It’s a fine little record. My favourite in our discography right now. Of course! That’s how it should be, right? It’s both fresh and old, both progressive and rehashed. Heavy and calm. Just the way we like it. Hopefully there’ll be others around the globe sharing this opinion. It was a joy to make it. A fucking joy to record it, and a sheer joy listening to it. So there you have it!”

The band will play London’s Wembley Arena on November 19th 2016, with tickets available to purchase online now from