NEWS: Minus The Bear split up; announce final EP!

Credit: Chona Kasinger

Seattle based math rock stalwarts Minus The Bear have sadly announced that they will be breaking up after 17 years together as a band.

The band intend to pack it in and call it a day following the release of their forthcoming EP, ‘Fair Enough’, which is out on October 19th 2018 via Suicide Squeeze Records, along with a final headline tour of the US.

At the time of writing, the band have advised of no plans to extend their final touring commitments to the UK.

The band gave a reflective and in-depth interview to Stereogum (here) discussing their decision to part ways, along with a statement via their social channels which can be read below.


After almost two decades of writing and touring the world together, we have decided to close this chapter of our lives as Minus The Bear.

What started as a silly inside joke inside the dingy confines of Seattle’s original Cha Cha Lounge back in 2001 quickly snowballed into years of adventures, creativity, and friendship. We could have never predicted the wild journey about to begin. We’ve accomplished so much over the past 17 years, and we are grateful for the experience.

Undoubtedly we owe all of these adventures to you, our fans. Without all of you, the memories of traveling the world, exploring different cultures, and witnessing the delight of your beautiful faces singing along wouldn’t have been possible. Your support weathered us through storms that easily could have scuttled the band. Throughout the years, it’s you who kept us going. We cannot thank you enough.

This Autumn we head out on our final tour in support of our upcoming 4-song EP ‘Fair Enough’ courtesy of Suicide Squeeze Records.

These final shows are a celebration for the community of fans who gave us so much through years of dedication. We’ll be digging deep in the MTB catalogue and we are honored for the opportunity to play our hearts out for you one last time.


Alex, Cory, Dave & Jake”

Minus The Bear formed in 2001, and features members of the bands Botch, Kill Sadie, Sharks Keep Moving, and These Arms Are Snakes.

The band released a total of five full-length albums together, the latest being 2017’s ‘Voids’.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Solve : *
24 ⁄ 6 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.