NEWS: Brand New surprise release 500 copies of album, ‘Science Fiction’!

Over the past few days, more has happened in the camp of Brand New in terms of new music than they have for the past few years. Now, continuing with their infamous reputation of secrecy and cryptic actions, it appears the band have issued a limited amount of 500 copies of a new album out to fans.

The recipients of the CDs are expected to be the first 500 pre-orders that were made for their fifth album, which Brand New opened up for fans completely out of the blue earlier this week for “very limited” vinyl.

The covers of the CDs received in the post have a sticker on them, detailing a number out of 500, with the CD itself containing one track, titled ‘44.5902N104.7146W’, which is reportedly composed of several songs, with a total run length of 61 minutes, 27 minutes, and 45 seconds.

It also included a sheet of paper with some cryptic text, ending with some dialogue quoted from the film 2001: A Space Odyssey, which reads as follows.

“I am unsure what to do from moment to moment. My thoughts are scattered, always. When I see or hear recordings of myself being excited, I am embarraseed, and find myself false and unlikeable. I have realized over time that people close to me identify me as unreliable, and absent, and it is because in times when I am faced with a decision or responsibility that I am unable to shoulder, I isolate myself and ignore attempts at communication from others, instead of explaining my difficulties or asking for help. I am scared of implementing my ideas out of fear that in actuality they will not be perfect, and that they, and I, will subsequently receive harsh judgement. I have outbursts of rage and despair when I am alone. I am attepting to uncreate this reality. I am finding peace in commitment to others, and in hard work, and in the forgiveness that other people show me when they are faced with my faults. Where and when will I die? And then, what will I become? What are the strings that tie me to you, across unknown planes, made of? Or are there even strings? Or am I you? Are you, me?
e4 e5 – Nf3 Nc6 – Bb5 a6 – Ba4 Nf6 – Qe2 b5 – Bb3 Be7 – c3 0-0 – 0-0 d5 -exd5 Nxd5 -Nxe5 Nf4 Qe4 Nxe5 – Qxa8 Qd3 – Bd1 Bh3 14:
Anyways, queen takes pawn… okay?
Bishop takes knight’s pawn.
Huh, lovely move. Um… Rook to king one.
I’m sorry, Frank, I think you missed it. Queen to bishop 3, bishop takes queen, knight takes bishop. Mate.
Huh. Yeah, looks like you’re right. I resign.
Thank you for a very enjoyable game.
Yeah, thank you.
We love you again.”

Upon investigation from fans, the co-ordinates that are the title of the track lead to the Devils Tower National Monument in Wyoming.

Fans also did a Shazam search on the album, which claims that the album is infact called ‘Science Fiction’, and the official artwork for it can be seen below, which happens to be a photograph taken by Thobias Fäldt.

With the nature of how music is shared, distributed and consumed in this day and age, the stream is already being uploaded and shared all over the place, something Brand New must’ve planned out in the first place – they’ve effectively leaked their own album.

The band also since updated the details on the Procrastinate! Music Traitors label webstore (here), where the album can now be pre-ordered in digital, CD, and vinyl format (presumable different to the very limited initial run).

The track listing for ‘Science Fiction’ is detailed as follows.

01.) Lit Me Up
02.) Can’t Get It Out
03.) Waste
04.) Same Logic/Teeth
05.) Could Never Be Heaven
06.) 137
07.) Out Of Mana
08.) In The Water
09.) Desert
10.) No Control
11.) 451
12.) Batter Up

More details surrounding what the hell seems to be going on will be confirmed as it unravels.