ALBUM REVIEW: Dim – From Dark To Light We’ll See

Release Date: July 16th 2021
Label: Unsigned


For most, forming a band just as the world is embracing a global pandemic might seem like a crazy idea, but Atlanta based Dim did just that, forging a project that would represent the unprecedented state of the world which we’ve all experienced for the past 16 months in the form of their debut album, ‘From Dark To Light We’ll See’.

The band themselves are no strangers to the industry, with a string of success behind them. The band is formed of vocalist Matt Mulkey (Young Mountain, Molekey, ex-Woe, Is Me), drummer Ben Cato (ex-The Dangerous Summer), and guitarists Nick Lowry and Charlie Pinkard.

As you’d expect from a band who’ve mostly been inspired by such bleak circumstances, the record is a smooth blend of emo pop-rock, with opening track ‘Shine On Me’ showcasing this direction perfectly.

Transitioning into ‘Start Over Again’, a track which many will find relatable, it deals with that moment when you start to wonder if there’s more to life, bored of the mundane and questioning what the next move should be. There’s a very welcomed cameo from a saxophone which really raises the bar as to what this band can offer.

‘Piece It Together’ perfectly represents the overriding theme of the album of how we may all be on our own separate journeys, but still alive in the same existence, simultaneously surviving a worldwide crisis. The band’s ability to form such truthful thought-provoking music is an absolute credit to them and can be seen numerous times, from the delicately haunting ‘Don’t Bury Me’ all the way to the slow-burning closer ‘Someone Else’.

Throughout the eleven tracks, Dim have truly managed to incorporate some significant and at times difficult topics of discussion, none more so than in ‘Break You Down’, diving into the perils of being stuck in a toxic or abusive relationships. Mulkey‘s raw vocals singing “You always try to shove me down / Try to bury me under the ground / You never smile only frown / Well jokes on you little clown” add a whole extra depth on this already tough listen.

‘Ludicrum’ slots itself into the halfway point, providing a beautiful instrumental into the vulnerability of the second half of the album which leads into ‘Home Is Where You Are’, a track which feels warm, heartfelt, and poignant. Delving into the notion of losing someone close to you and the time in which you grieve their loss, but with the idyllic realisation that people are never truly gone as the live on in memories and locations.

One of the standout takeaways from ‘From Dark To Light We’ll See’ is the impressive drumming contribution from Cato, although it may take a few listens of the record to fully appreciate them. ‘Pull Myself Up’ is a mixed bag of steady verses which leads into big anthemic choruses, whereas ‘Come Find Me (It’s So Heavy)’ provides a slower beat which allows for a much darker atmosphere to the track overall.

As far as new bands on the scene go, Dim have offered up an impressive first release on ‘From Dark To Light We’ll See’, with all four musical journeys really coming together to form an exciting new band. Although upbeat, high octane tracks were never truly the intention of this album, being released in the middle of summer it doesn’t quite reflect the music you might prefer to be listening to in July, but as the nights draw in and the weather gets moodier, this would be the perfect album to reflect on this strange old time we’ve lived through.