ALBUM: DevilDriver – Trust No One

Release Date: May 13th 2016
Label: Napalm Records


With a new look line-up in a tow and frontman Dez Fafara‘s recent dalliance with his preceding band (nu-metal luminaries Coal Chamber), ‘Trust No One’ promises renewed fire and something of a fresh start from Californian five-piece, DevilDriver.

Compact, brutal, and with a broader dynamic range than ever before, this seventh full-length certainly delivers enough songwriting twists and turns to suggest that DevilDriver are continuing to galvanize their sound with a rich collage of styles. From the melo-death guitars of opener ‘Testimony Of Truth’ and the pitch black power of ‘Retribution’, the record chimes perfectly with the taut, rhythmic violence of the band’s past (‘This Deception’) with the more adventurous approach of modern metal’s pathfinders (the blackened dramatics of ‘My Night Sky’).

Of course, ‘Trust No One’ is built on a foundation of DevilDriver‘s trademark acidic thrash, Fafara‘s new henchmen impressing with a display teeming with volatile percussive might and mutant riff work. Yet, given these touches of creativity and the emergence of a few fresh ideas, this is an outing which offers much more than a simple forty minute bludgeoning.

Written by Tony Bliss (@TBliss88)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Solve : *
13 × 5 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.