Hello and welcome to DEAD PRESS! Month in Review: March Edition. Though we’re all cursing the hour we lost in sleep, the nights are getting lighter making gig-queuing outside the venue just that little bit more bearable. March has seen some truly stellar releases from mammoth acts such as The Prodigy and Cancer Bats however it’s the underdogs that have stolen the show this time around with some stunning debuts and career revivals. Take a read below to find out the three March must-listens!




Release Date: March 23rd, 2015
Label: Sony Music
Website: www.wssofficial.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/whileshesleeps
Twitter: www.twitter.com/whileshesleeps


It’s been well over two years since While She Sleeps‘ genre defining debut ‘This Is The Six‘ decimated the metal scene back in 2012. They toured relentlessly, popping up at every festival the UK had to offer and then *poof* like an eclipse, the darkness they brought went away. Sadly, this was due to vocalist Lawrence “Loz” Taylor undergoing vital throat surgery, which allowed the band to take a much needed breather.

The break did Sleeps good, well, that’s a bit of an understatement really because out of the two year lull came the ferocious, devastating sophomore album that is ‘Brainwashed‘. For all that thought ‘This is The Six‘ was an incredible release, to quote the 1927 talkie The Jazz Singer, you ain’t heard nothing yet. ‘Brainwashed‘ is brimming with black-eye hardcore beatdowns between scream your lungs out anthems and suckerpunching choruses. For any metal fan, this is a must listen.

Review: by Tony Bliss




Release Date: March 30th, 2015
Label: Best Before Records
Website: www.acodauk.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/acodauk
Twitter: www.twitter.com/acodauk


Alt metal bands are a bit like vegetables, hard to get into at first but in time you eventually come to realise, when done properly, that they can be fucking incredible. Acoda have proved yet again that they are one of those fucking incredible alt metal bands / vegetables with their outstanding and innovative second release ‘Truth Seeker‘.

Taking influences from all corners of the ever expanding metal universe the Corby quartet dabble in graceful instrumentals and aggressive riffs, nailing it every single time. ‘Truth Seeker‘ is just one of those few spectacular albums that crop up once in a while where you actually need to sit down and drink in the music during its initial listen. While the whole album isn’t available on YouTube, you can check out Acoda’s first single from the album ‘Whispers Like Roars’ here.

Review: by Tony Bliss




Release Date: March 1st, 2015
Label: Di Di Mau Records
Website: www.aplasticrose.co.uk
Facebook: www.facebook.com/aplasticrose
Twitter: www.twitter.com/aplasticrose


It was a bold statement when Sum 41 called their album ‘All Killer No Filler‘ but we can all agree that they were right in doing so. Rarely a filler-free album is crafted making A Plastic Rose’s second studio album ‘Flickering Light of an Inner War‘ all the more impressive. Five very different singles have climbed to fame off the back of this album, jettisoning APR to heights of stardom themselves.

Though the album was released in the bygone months of last winter, March has seen a physical release of ‘Flickering Light…‘, probably so APR have an excuse to tour again which is only good news for us. At 14 tracks long and just under an hour in length, ‘Flickering Light…‘ doesn’t drag in the slightest: it’s like watching The Wolf of Wall Street, you don’t realise just how much time has flown by because you were so immersed in their awesome, engrossing music.

Review: by Kieran Harris

Written by Andy Roberts (@sassensquatch)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Solve : *
12 ⁄ 6 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.