NEWS: Death From Above announce third album, ‘Outrage! Is Now’!

Canadian noisy punk duo Death From Above (yep, without the 1979 now) have just announced the details surrounding their eagerly awaited third album, and follow-up to 2014’s ‘The Physical World’. The new album, ‘Outrage! Is Now’ will drop on September 8th 2017 via Last Gang Records/eOne.

The album, produced by Eric Valentine (Slash, Taking Back Sunday, Queens Of The Stone Age), is the band’s first since they changed their name back to Death From Above – the name they originally had until 2004 following a legal dispute with DFA Records, and subsequently resulted in them becoming Death From Above 1979.

You can check out the album artwork, full track listing, and streams of singles ‘Freeze Me’ and ‘Never Swim Alone’ below.

01.) Nomad
02.) Freeze Me [stream]
03.) Caught Up
04.) Outrage! Is Now
05.) Never Swim Alone [stream]
06.) Moonlight
07.) Statues
08.) All I C Is U & Me
09.) NVR 4EVR
10.) Holy Books

Speaking further about the album, its creation, and working with Valentine, vocalist/drummer Sebastien Grainger explains, “We are committed to evolution. This record is the sound of the two us pushing at the walls. We want there to be space, surprises and action!

The myth of what we should be didn’t exist anymore. There was never a moment where we took a conventional path—either writing or recording. Eric has been making records for decades and we managed to make him say: “Well, that’s a first!” during every song! There was always some strange element thrown in. In a way it’s a very serious record, but dressed in a really fun outfit.

There’s an absolute chaos and confusion in the world, and people who would otherwise agree on most things seem to be disagreeing on everything. There’s a lot more space between the poles of opinion and views on the world. It seems like there’s a barrier of disgust as we dehumanize one another based on a few slight differences of opinion. The title is an observation of this hyper-sensitivity, which we’re all a part of.”

Bassist Jesse F. Keeler adds, “We both wanted to see how far we could take our sound as Death From Above. In a way, that has always been our objective I hope fans hear the progression. This record is very much the result of the environment and experiences of the last five years. If we didn’t have struggle, life would be really fucking boring. These songs are a anti-boredom manifesto.”

You can pre-order ‘Outrage! Is Now’ online now via the band’s webstore (here), iTunes (here), Amazon (here), and Google Play (here).

Founder & Editor for DEAD PRESS! | Atheist and antitheist. | Judge of the quick & the dead since 1989. | Aspiring freelance pizza eater.

Founder & Editor for DEAD PRESS! | Atheist and antitheist. | Judge of the quick & the dead since 1989. | Aspiring freelance pizza eater.