NEWS: Architects announce eighth album, ‘Holy Hell’!

Credit: Ed Mason

In the wake of some cryptic teasing a little earlier this week which was suspected to be a new single, Architects have gone all in and have now announced details of what will be their forthcoming eighth record.

The Brighton based heavy-hitters will be dropping their new studio album, titled ‘Holy Hell’ on November 9th 2018 through Epitaph Records.

The album will act as the follow-up to 2016’s critically acclaimed offering ‘All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us’, and also their first record since the tragic passing of guitarist Tom Searle a few months following its release.

Expanding on the idea and message that runs through ‘Holy Hell’, and also dealing with the death of his bandmate and brother, drummer Dan Searle had the following to say.

“In those first months after Tom’s death, I didn’t deal with it at all and I felt so unhappy and anxious. I’d ignored it and just tried to cope. But I knew that at some point, I had to learn from it.

Ultimately, there were two choices. Feel sorry for yourself and believe the world to be a horrible place and let it defeat you. Or let it inspire us to live the life that Tom would have wanted us to live. I was very worried about people taking away a despondent message from the album. I felt a level of responsibility to provide a light at the end of the tunnel for people who are going through terrible experiences.

For me, broadly speaking ‘Holy Hell’ is about pain: the way we process it, cope with it, and live with it. There is value in pain. It’s where we learn, it’s where we grow.”

You can take a look at the cover artwork, full track listing, streams of singles ‘Doomsday’ and ‘Hereafter’, and pre-order options below.

01.) Death Is Not Defeat
02.) Hereafter [stream]
03.) Mortal After All
04.) Holy Hell
05.) Damnation
06.) Royal Beggars
07.) Modern Misery
08.) Dying To Heal
09.) The Seventh Circle
10.) Doomsday [stream]
11.) A Wasted Hymn

You can pre-order the album online now from Kings Road Merch (here), Impericon (here), iTunes (here), Amazon (here), and Google Play (here).